Truth

I believe that there are certain truths in life. You may not agree with my observations, or you may see your thoughts echoed in mine. They are in no particular order.

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 2.59.01 PM

  1. Life is not fair – This is a big one. People by nature want things to be fair. We carry on and use this truth as an excuse to, well, excuse our behavior. Someone will always be richer, prettier and smarter than you. So stop worrying about it. And as far as I know, no one ever said life would be fair.
  2. Happiness takes work – We are never taught in life that to be happy we need to work at it. It was never in any textbook or class I took in school, and it was not something my parents ever taught me. We assume that we will just be happy. Being happy just maybe some of the hardest work you ever do.
  3. You are NOT too busy – Sure, some days are more filled than others. But I have found that the people who use this as an excuse more often than not are the victims of poor organization and planning. The great philosopher Seneca said “So it is: we are not given a short life but we make it short, and we are not ill-supplied but wasteful of it.”
  4. You need to tend to your relationship – If you never water you garden it will not grow. If you have a spouse or friends, they need you. Your relationships should be your top priority. NEVER be too busy for them.
  5. Sometimes you are wrong – We all are. So admit it, apologize if need be.
  6. Sometime you will be wronged – Give grace and move on. This doesn’t mean you will forget, but you can forgive.
  7. Stay in your own business – As tempting as it is, don’t mess in other peoples lives. You should be hard at work in your own.
  8. Focus on what’s important in life – Don’t worry that you missed the sale at Macy’s or that your neighbor has a new car and you don’t. If you have a roof over your head, food to eat, and people to love, you hit the jackpot.
  9. Stop making excuses- For why you don’t do stuff. Just do it. Enough said.
  10. Change is good – Don’t be afraid, even if at first it is scary or even sad. Good things can come out of the darkest moments of change.
  11. You get to choose – This may be the greatest truth. YOU get a choice in this life. You can choose how you respond to all the stuff, good and bad that happens to you. You can choose to live a life full of joy and love or pick the path of discontentment and play the victim. Bad stuff will happen and we can’t always control that, but we can choose how we react to it. Choose wisely.

south_sister

I think about my truths often. I am a constant work in progress when it comes to them. I have to remind myself of them, and they take work. I don’t believe I will ever have it down perfectly, but that doesn’t mean I will quit working on them. My truths help to anchor me to what is really important. If I may be so bold to ask,what anchors you?

One thought on “Truth

  1. Your truths hold a lot of truth for me as well. Words to reflect on and re-examine as they apply to my life. Thanks for your insights, Cyndee!

Leave a Reply

